Inspiring individuals are recognised at CTSI Conference

The audience at the CTSI annual conference in sunny Bournemouth heard stories of bravery and inspiration last week as eleven individuals were rewarded with a prestigious Hero Award.

Matt Allwright (3)Julie GrantAs one of the most popular events at the conference, the Hero Awards are a platform which recognises those who are helping vulnerable residents in the community and making a real difference to consumer protection.

Held at Bournemouth International Centre, the Hero Awards took place during the plenaries on Wednesday 1 July and Thursday 2 July, with CTSI chairman Mark McGinty and chief executive Leon Livermore presenting the winners with a specially engraved award.

On Wednesday 1 July, Matt Allwright received the CTSI Media Hero Award for his consistently high level of consumer journalism which has drawn sympathy to consumer victims, attention to scams and helped to bring down rogue traders.  His consumer journalism and engaging manner as a presenter have drawn high viewing numbers to many popular consumer programmes on TV schedules for nearly twenty years, including Scambusters, Brassed off Britain, Rogue Restaurants and his trademark BBC1 programme Rogue Traders.

Julie Grant, a consumer champion who campaigns tirelessly on social media and supports the work of trading standards nationally, was recognised with a Hero Award on Thursday 2 July. After her mother died from a fire at her home in 2012 which was linked to illegal Jin Ling cigarettes failing to extinguish, Julie has since campaigned for the cause working with local authority services and getting her mother’s story into the national press.

A huge congratulations and well done to all Hero Award winners:

  • Community Wardens
  • Joanne Bannaghan
  • Julie Grant
  • Louise Baxter
  • Matt Allwright
  • Mike Weatherly
  • SAFER project
  • Ynys Mon Citizens Advice Bureau and Anglesey Trading Standards

Along with the Hero Awards, other groups and individuals were recognised with a Certificate of Commendation for their tireless work campaigning for meaningful causes.

Well done to all Certificate of Commendation winners:

  • Angie Cawthra – SAFER project
  • Carrie Wilson – SAFER project
  • Lanson Moore – SAFER project
  • Rebecca Finch – SAFER project
  • The Princes Trust
  • The Feeling Good Theatre Company
  • Lee Russell
  • NatWest Bank Wales

Take a look at all our Hero Award winners’ stories here.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s